Distracted drivers put others at risk of getting injured in preventable car accidents
Distracted driving accidents in Delaware continue to wreak havoc across the state despite ongoing efforts to educate drivers about the dangers of texting while driving, using a cell phone while driving, and other forms of distracted driving.
That’s why the State of Delaware and its ongoing, five-year Strategic Highway Safety Plan remains focused on reducing the number of distracted driving accidents throughout the state by the year 2025.
For far too long, distracted drivers in Delaware have been causing serious collisions that result in serious injuries and fatalities throughout the state.
Crashes involving distracted drivers remain a problem statewide
The State of Delaware remains committed to reducing distracted driving deaths and injuries to zero as part of its five-year strategic plan. That plan recently received extra attention since April is National Distracted Driving Awareness Month.
Since 2010, the number of people seriously injured or who die in car accidents in Delaware caused by distracted drivers has remained relatively the same. In 2010, a total of 12 people died in distracted driving crashes in Delaware, according to the Delaware Department of Transportation.
In 2021, the death toll due to distracted driving accidents in Delaware was 14 deaths. And many years, the number of deaths has been even higher, especially in 2019, when 24 people died in collisions caused by distracted drivers.
Serious injuries have also fluctuated and often increased due to Delaware distracted driving accidents – ranging from a high of 175 injuries in 2011 and a low of 76 injuries in 2018. Since then, serious injuries have increased every year in the past three years to 107 injuries in 2021.
What are Delaware’s distracted driving laws?
In 2011, Delaware became the eighth state in the country to ban handheld cell phones while driving, as well as texting while driving. “Sending or reading a text takes your eyes off the road for 5 seconds, which equates to traveling the length of a football field with your eyes closed at 55 mph,” according to a recent Delaware Department of Transportation announcement.
Under Delaware Code Title 21, Chapter 4176C (Electronic Communication Devices), drivers are not allowed to talk on a cellphone unless the device is a hands-free device. Drivers also cannot read, write, or send text messages while driving.
Drivers caught using a hand-held electronic device while driving will be fined $100 for the first offense, according to state law. Subsequent offenses can be fined at least $200 and up to $300 for each offense.
Hit by a distracted driver in Delaware? Let a car accident lawyer protect your rights.
If you or a loved one was injured in a collision caused by a distracted driver in Delaware, you might think you don’t even need a lawyer, especially if your crash is being investigated by a local police officer or state trooper from the Delaware State Police.
But it’s important to understand the scope of their investigation. In many cases, law enforcement officials are only focused on whether or not any local, state, or federal traffic laws were broken. They’re not concerned with whether you are fairly compensated for your accident-related expenses.
Such expenses can add up fast. That’s why you need an experienced Delaware distracted driving accident lawyer from Gill, Welsh, and Chamberlain, P.A. on your side. We can review your case with you and explain your legal options. That way, you can make informed decisions based on the facts.
Get the Delaware law firm that gets results. Contact us and schedule a free case evaluation with a Delaware car accident attorney who puts your best interests first. We work on a contingency fee basis. That means you pay no fees unless we win your case.